A few years ago, executives at KLM Royal Dutch Airlines, data scientists and software engineers at BCG Gamma, and airline experts at BCG were sent out to build a suite of tools that would solve the airline operations dilemma. This one-of-a-kind partnership designed not only the technology, but also the management approach that enables management in frontline staff to get a full view—in real time—of the impact of every operational decision and propose a solution.

As a result, KLM is well on its way to achieving a target 25% reduction in non-performance costs. And the staff of its Operations Control Center, as well as of the supporting functions, are performing with new levels of engagement, confidence, and satisfaction in a job done as well as it can be done—every day.

We are now making these tools and our approach available to airlines worldwide. The COO of a major global airline, now a client, toured the KLM operations control center and said: “We have talked about this for years, but you just rolled up your sleeves and did it.”

René de Groot, KLM
Sander Stomph, KLM
Dirk-Maarten Molenaar, BCG
Olivier Bouffault, BCG

Central Team

Dirk-Maarten Molenaar

Dirk-Maarten Molenaar

Managing Director & Partner BCG

AMSTERDAM

molenaar.dirk-maarten@bcg.com

Fernando Bosch

Fernando Bosch

Managing Director & Partner BCG

AMSTERDAM

bosch.fernando@bcg.com

Olivier Bouffault

Olivier Bouffault

Managing Director & Partner BCG

PARIS

bouffault.olivier@bcg.com

Martin Fink

Martin Fink

Associate Director BCG GAMMA

MUNICH

fink.martin@bcg.com

Julien Lardet

Julien Lardet

Principal BCG

ATLANTA

lardetmaurin.julien@bcg.com

Sacha Wolzak

Sacha Wolzak

Senior Account Manager KLM

AMSTERDAM

sacha.wolzak@klm.com

Lucille Witmans

Lucille Witmans

Senior Account Manager KLM

AMSTERDAM

lucille.witmans@klm.com

Linda de Rijke

Linda de Rijke

Partnership Coordinator KLM

AMSTERDAM

linda-de.rijke@klm.com

DROP US A LINE arrow